The Liebster Award!

Hi, friends!

Liebster Blog Award

Thanks for checking back after our little break! Lulu finished her show successfully, and Bella will be gearing up for my school’s spring musical soon. We’ll be getting back into the swing of things this week, so please be patient with us as we figure a few things out. Thank you!

Anyhoo, while we were away from posting, two lovely readers, Marisa and Juliet, nominated us for the Liebster Award. Thank you so much, you two! There are a few things that you are supposed to do if you receive this, so we’ll start by answering a few questions. So FUN! :) To make things easier for you to know who is who, Bella’s answers are in PINK and Lulu’s are in PURPLE.

Questions from Marisa at Marisa’s American Girls

  1. When did you start blogging? For Doll Mag, we have been blogging on this site since April 2013. We have been blogging on our personal blogs long before that!
  2. What made you want to start a blog? Long story short, we wanted a website completely devoted to Doll Mag, so that we could come more connected with the amazing doll fan community {We previously shared the issues on Lulu’s blog HERE, but be warned, our past issues are quite old!}.
  3. What is your favorite doll? We obviously can’t pick a favorite :)
  4. What doll do you want next? I want Cedar Wood from the Ever After High line. Her prototype photos are so cute! I would love to get Lauryce from the Hearts for Hearts doll line.
  5. What doll should AG make next? {Like traits of a doll that you’d like, hair color/length, eyes, face mold, etc.}  I want a doll with dark brown curly hair, lots of freckles, brown eyes, glasses, and with the Sonali face mold. As for traits, I would love for her to bake and/or write! I would personally like to see a doll with straight mid-length hair, not as long as my doll Hannah’s, but not as short as Lulu’s doll, Louisa, either! I feel AG doesn’t have enough of them. I would also love a doll that likes doing drama, either onstage or backstage, because it’s such a big part of both my life and Lulu’s. Ooh! And a doll that loves to bake would be fun too.
  6. How many blogs do you currently contribute to? Two! This one and my own, theawesomeadventuresoflulu. I contribute to two as well, this one and my personal one, Ciao Bella.
  7. Do you plan to start any more blogs? Nope, I think I am good for now! Me too! We both feel like two is enough.
  8. Where is your favorite place to photograph your dolls? I really this fence made from old branches. {See it in this post and this one!} This will sound super boring, but I love the unlimited possibilities two blank white poster boards can provide.
  9. How good do you think you are at taking doll photos? Why? I think I am FANTABULOUS – just kidding! :) I really do think my photos come out good though because Bella always helps me, and we try to take them when the light is best. I don’t like prepping for photos, on the other hand… While I am really happy with how our photos are currently coming out, I know we can always improve; there’s no telling what a difference a year can make in the quality of photos! I actually took a photography class earlier in the fall, and I instantly saw how our photos were looking better.
  10. Will you ever “grow out” of dolls? Why or why not? No, simply because my dolls are too awesome not to love :) I think, if anything, how I use my dolls will change {i.e. maybe just treasuring them as I get older? I am not sure}. I don’t think I could ever stop liking dolls, because, as Lulu said, they are too cute not to love.
  11. Do you prefer Historicals, My American Girls, or Girl of the Year dolls? I like MyAG dolls the best because there are so many choices, and you get to create a personality and style for each one. I do like the stories behind the Historical dolls also. That’s a tough one! I honestly can’t choose, because I have each type, and I like them all the same.

Questions from Juliet at The Guys and Gals of Chestnut Street

  1. What is the name of your blog? Why? At the time, Doll Mag made perfect sense, and hopefully it still does?! Perhaps we could have been more creative, but it’s catchy and easy to remember, in our opinion.
  2. Why do you think you got this award? Because we’re just so cool! :) Actually, I think it’s because we always try to keep things easy, fun, and creative. I hope to think that it’s all of the fun content we provide, but who knows?
  3. Do you have the slightest idea what/who “Liebster” is? {I don’t} No. I thought the name of the award was lobster at first :) I vaguely remember reading about it on another blog, but there’s nothing a little Google can’t do to refresh my memory! The word “liebster” is German for beloved or dearest, which makes me love all of our readers even more.
  4. Do you have, or would you make, any custom dolls? I don’t have any custom dolls, but all of my reading of one of our favorite blogs, Clarisse’s Closet, makes me want one. CLARISSE. That is all, as she makes my heart melt, she is so adorable :)
  5. Would you ever dye your hair? I personally think it would be super cool to have purple hair, but I would never do it to myself. Nope!
  6. Night owl or morning person? Night owl; I get really grumpy in the morning. Is there such a thing as an “afternoon girl”?! Because there should, as that is me.
  7. Do you have a nickname? If so, what is it and why? My nickname is actually Lulu, and mine is Bella!
  8. Was it hard to pick 11 people to nominate? More on that below.
  9. Least favorite book movie character and why. We both dislike Hans from Frozen, because he betrayed all of our favorite characters. 
  10. Was it hard to answer #9? Why? It was so hard we changed it to movie character. Hehe.
  11. What job do you think you’ll have in the future? Best-selling author! I hope to be doing something with art or teaching or baking – there’s lot of different directions I want to pursue!

The other guidelines to receiving the Liebster Award is that you are supposed to pass it on to eleven other bloggers with a new set of eleven questions for them to answer. We think that the whole purpose of the award is to spread blog love, is it not?! And, so, as the award has been floating around a lot lately, we figured it would be easier to nominate anyone else who hasn’t participated {or who wants another set of questions}. Have fun!

  1. What inspired you to start blogging?
  2. What is your favorite book?
  3. Do you have a favorite season? If so, what is it and why?
  4. What’s your favorite doll line {not just AG}?
  5. What is your favorite movie?
  6. Where do you like to shop for yourself? For your doll?
  7. What is your favorite food?
  8. If you had a million dollars, what would you do with it?
  9. What is your favorite school subject?
  10. You’re stuck on a desert island; what three things would you want with you {besides food, water, shelter, the important stuff}?
  11. What is your favorite word?

Thanks again to Marisa and Juliet!

xo, B and L

7 thoughts on “The Liebster Award!

    • Hi! We meant that anyone who hasn’t yet completed a set of questions is welcome to do so. Instead of us trying to figure out who hasn’t been nominated yet, we left it as more of an open invitation :)

  1. Pingback: Monthly Recap / March 2014 | Doll Mag

Say Hello!

