Shop Owner Spotlight / 06

Hi!

Shop Owner Spotlight JaclynnAs we head into the autumn season, one holiday that will soon be on everyone’s mind is Halloween! It’s always fun brainstorming a costume, finding or making the pieces, and of course, showing it off on Halloween night. Even doll fans who no longer go trick-or-treating know that it can be just as fun of a process for dolls too! And so, the two of us couldn’t think of a better shop owner to feature in our September/October issue than the lovely Jaclynn, owner of Bitty Beanies on Etsy. Her shop is stocked with plenty of high-quality costumes {and a few everyday items as well} – from a pirate to those amazing Frozen-inspired outfits above – that you may have trouble choosing just one for your doll. Snippets of the interview were featured in the latest issue, but here’s all Jaclynn had to say!

What inspired you to start your shop?

My mom taught me to crochet and when she saw that my products were of great quality, she encouraged me to start selling what I made, so I could earn money doing what I love :)

What are your favorite pieces to make? {e.g. t-shirts, skirts?}

I don’t really have a favorite item to make, but I absolutely love creating new outfits and costumes!

How do you come up with the ideas for your outfits?

Most of my outfits are costumes, so I get my inspiration by looking at pictures of the Disney Princess dress I’m making. However, all of my pirate costumes are inspired from movies and then my own imagination, which is super fun!

What are some of your favorite color combinations?

Oh, I could go on forever with this question! I love green and purple, pink and brown, pink and black, red and black, etc. I really love so many colors together, that it’s hard to pick just a few!

Finally, we would love to know a little bit about your dolls.

Here’s another one I could go on and on about! I have 13 AG dolls, 3 sets of Bitty Twins, and 1 Bitty Baby. My very first doll was Felicity and I got her for my 9th birthday in 2008. I chose her because we both share a love of horses and she is just so pretty! Since then I have started saving up my money and buying my own AG dolls. Every year I go to the Los Angeles American Girl Place and have a huge birthday shopping spree! Whenever I buy a doll I give them each a special personality. Saige is artistic and enthusiastic, Marie-Grace is quiet and shy, and Rebecca is dramatic and outgoing. When I play with my dolls, I play with them as if they are my “kids.” I love my dolls so much and I expect to still be obsessed and buying more dolls when I’m old and married :)

A huge thank you to Jaclynn! Giving your dolls a unique personality is the best part of getting a new doll, totally agree.

Do you own an Etsy shop and want to be interviewed as well?! We are always in need of shop owners to interview; we are currently looking for someone to feature in the November/December issue. Feel free to email us HERE, and we’ll get back to you if we believe you are the right fit. Emailing us does not guarantee an interview.

Have an amazing rest of your day!

5 thoughts on “Shop Owner Spotlight / 06

Say Hello!

