AG Holiday Release 2014 / Bella’s Thoughts

Hi!

Now that Lulu has covered all of American Girl’s latest release, I figured I would pop in to share my own thoughts! There weren’t as many new items as in previous years – most likely so that they can continue to market Beforever – but what is lacked in quantity is made up in cuteness :) The only thing left to wait for? The 2014 wish book. It’s always a good day when that is in your mailbox! What do you think of the new products?

AG Holiday Release Likes[a] Happy Holiday Dress Just as I anticipate the Girl of the Year rollout each January, I look forward to the annual holiday dress release all year. While there have been a few “misses” in the past, I think AG nailed it this time! Personally, I am all over the Happy Holiday Dress – the cut, color, and shine make me happy.

[b] Design By Me: Big and Small I love my copy of Design by Me: Treats; something about coloring is just so comforting! I was excited to see that another installment of the activity series was released, and given how fun the other books are, I’m sure it will be a hit with AG artists.

[c] Toy Soldier PJ’s I know I am not the only one that feels the Bitty Twin boys never receive enough attention, so these adorable holiday pajamas were a welcome surprise! Unfortunately, the product doesn’t have a place in our doll home, but do know we would be the first to snag our own set if it did :)

[d] Pretty Pink Riding Outfit I have little knowledge in horseback riding, but even I know that a bright pink riding jacket is far from realistic. However, this outfit’s mix-and-match potential is enough for me to overlook its accuracy. I bet the jacket would look oh-so cute paired with jeggings and tall boots {a style that’s very trendy at the moment}.

AG Holiday Release Dislikes[a] Isabelle’s Fancy Jewelry Box for Girls I am underwhelmed with the latest addition to Isabelle’s collection. It is meant for girls to “store little treasures,” as American Girl puts it, but with the $44 price tag, I would give its necessity and quality another look.

[b] Winter White Outfit The winter white-on-white look is nothing new to AG {we’ve seen it done in 2006 and 2012}, so at this point, it needs to truly impress me before I even consider buying it. Sadly, the Winter White Outfit feels more like an odd mix of textures and creams than a chic, monochromatic look.

[c] Frosty Ice Skating Outfit Finally, I think my dislike of this outfit is in part due to the poor position of the doll, but I’m still not a fan of the sock skates and pointelle knit bodice. Will it sell well? Most likely, but I don’t see it coming home with us anytime soon.

If you want to browse the new items yourself, click HERE.

Have a lovely night!

B

2 thoughts on “AG Holiday Release 2014 / Bella’s Thoughts

Say Hello!

