The Book Nook / October 2014

Hi!

The Book NookWe haven’t done a Book Nook post for several months now, but with the Beforever books now being sold, our site book reviewer Lydia’s review of The Lilac Tunnel: My Journey with Samantha was timed perfectly! The two of us have yet to read one of American Girl’s time travel novels, but we think they are a refreshing new way to engage a younger audience of AG fans. Here is Lydia’s take on Samantha’s new story…

Summary: What would it be like for a girl to suddenly find herself in Samantha’s world at the start of the 20th century? When she meets Samantha for the first time, Samantha may tuck one leg behind the other and dip into a curtsy, the way girls did a very long time ago. But what other things might girls experience while exploring 1904? In this book, readers can join Samantha on a rustic adventure to her summer home in the mountains, get dressed up and attend a fancy dinner, and discover what life was like as a servant instead of a wealthy young lady. Readers’ journey back in time can take whatever twists and turns they choose, as they select from a variety of exciting options in this multiple-ending story.

My Thoughts: Okay, first of all, I think this is a really cool book with the idea of time travel! I am into that kind of thing, so it was really exciting for me when I saw that they were time travel. However I wish it was not a choose-your-own ending book. I am more of a fan of the books that are regular books where the AUTHOR decides what will happen next, but it was still fun to see what would happen if we chose different options. 

Samantha kind of seemed different as far as personality in The Lilac Tunnel versus the regular books. Same with Grandmary. She seemed more crisp in a way.

I wish that they had actually said the girl’s name (the one that time-traveled). I like to know exactly who is the main character and what she looks like. I’m not sure if they say that in another choice I haven’t read but so far there has been no indication of the girl’s identity.

I liked that the book was totally separate from Samantha’s regular books. I would be sad if they completely changed the regular books to revolve around these other books. The Lilac Tunnel: My Journey with Samantha was a fun and interesting book that I would definitely recommend picking up. Totally check out this and the other My Journey books! :)

Thanks so much Lydia! We are eager to read one of these My Journey books {Lulu has the Addy one sitting in her pile of books!}, so we love hearing your thoughts.

What My Journey book do you recommend or want to read?

Lulu and Bella {and Lydia!}

One thought on “The Book Nook / October 2014

  1. Pingback: Monthly Recap / October 2014 | Doll Mag

Say Hello!

