Shop Owner Spotlight / 07

Hi!

Shop Owner Spotlight / 07Happy Tuesday everyone! We’ve been extremely busy lately (Bella is at a tech rehearsal as I write this), but we’ve started to get back on our normal blogging schedule for the month with plenty of fun posts to come. Today, the two of us have a wonderful interview to share with you from the November/December issue with Teresa from the Etsy shop, Pippaloo! We adore her doll food (we just ordered some mini baked potatoes – one of my personal real life favorites :)), and the two of us encourage you to check out her blog. Let’s get to the interview, shall we?!

What inspired you to start your shop?

When I started making foods it was just something fun that my girls and I would do together. I had always sort of envisioned opening a shop where I would design and make clothing for the dolls, not food. Eventually I saw that there was a market for realistic looking food for the dolls.  It all just sort of came together in a kismet sort of way for me. I really enjoy making the foods.  Which is sort of funny, because in my real life I do not enjoy cooking at all.

What are your favorite products to make?

New items, definitely.  When I get an idea for food in my head, and it’s something I am pretty sure I can get to look realistic – and then I turn it into reality – that’s what gives me the biggest rush. I don’t think any artist, or otherwise, enjoys making the same things ad nauseam.

What is your typical process in preparing for your monthly release?

First, I decide on a theme. Next, I make a list of the items I want to produce. Generally I try to incorporate a mix of popular shop staples, new items and a few of my own personal favorites. I try to include lots of different price points too. Then I get to work. Most months my list goes unfinished, as I just plain run out of time to complete everything. Next is the fun part: when I start setting up the scenes and taking the pics. I love getting out-of-doors and taking pics when I can. Most of the year here in Ohio, the weather is too unwelcoming for that though, especially the winter.

Now each month in my shop I choose one historical doll and offer foods for her, based on my theme. This gives me an opportunity to stretch a bit and squeeze in some history lessons as well.

Do you have any tips for beginning Etsy shop owners?

No matter what you are selling, offer amazing customer service, pay attention to the little details, and most importantly, take great photos.  Presentation always matters.

Tell us a little bit about your dolls.

The first American Girl doll I ever bought was the Girl Of The Year, Marisol.  She is really the one that started it all for me.  With two real life girls, the list quickly grew over the years and now I have more dolls than I care to admit. My girls are now 13 and 10. The oldest will help me occasionally dress them for a photo shoot, but that’s the extent of her interest now. I love having a wide variety of different face molds, hair colors, ethnicities. Most of my dolls have distinct personalities. There are some that love to model when it comes time to take pics, and others who are sassy or shy away.

Thanks so much Teresa! We love creating detailed scenes for our photo shoots too.

Do you own an Etsy shop? Do you want to be featured in Doll Mag? Enter our Shop Owner Spotlight survey here. As always, entering does not guarantee an interview, but we would love to hear from you! :)

Have an awesome rest of your week!

Lulu

Psst. We wanted to thank all of the readers that have awarded Doll Mag in the past few weeks! Bella and I are oh-so grateful, and we will do a big round-up of them all soon.

5 thoughts on “Shop Owner Spotlight / 07

    • Thanks so much! It means a lot to us that you like our blog so much. :)

      We’re planning on doing an award round-up post very soon, so be on the look out!

      Lulu

  1. Pingback: Our Hanukkah Picks / Holiday Headquarters 2014 | Doll Mag

Say Hello!

