The Book Nook / November 2014

Hello!

Isabelle Book NookIt’s crazy to think that the 2015 Girl of the Year will soon be introduced! Isabelle has such a unique collection, and both of us will be sad to see her go. Her outfits and accessories have been a hit all year-long {they are sure to sell out sometime this holiday season}, but we have heard mixed reviews on her three books. Thankfully, Lydia, our site book reviewer, shares her own thoughts below as part of our ongoing “Book Nook” series. What do you think of Isabelle, and her other stories, To the Stars, Isabelle and Designs by Isabelle?

Summary: Isabelle is excited about starting her first year at the Anna Hart School of the Arts! But she can’t help comparing herself to her older sister, Jade, who attends the same school and is an amazing ballerina. Isabelle’s other classmates are equally talented, and she starts wondering whether she really belongs at her new school. She earns a role in the fall festival, but she struggles during rehearsals. Can Isabelle learn how to focus less on those around her and more on her own dancing? With help from her sister and her friends, Isabelle may discover a unique talent that she can truly call her own.

Lydia’s Thoughts: I really enjoyed this book. It is a fun story and, unlike some people, I think it’s really unique and a great book. I think a lot of girls have the problem that Isabelle has {read the summary!} – I know I did when I did ballet. It isn’t just like, you know, Isabelle had stage fright.

Isabelle also does sewing, which I like because I LOVE sewing. It was fun to picture Isabelle’s costume ideas for me because it actually gave me ideas for new outfits I could make :) 

I thought that the characters were all different, if you know what I mean. Her dad was a musician, while her mom restored gowns for the Smithsonian Institution {Cool!}.

I think this was a great book; I definitely can’t wait to read the other two Isabelle books. I give it four stars out of five!

Thanks a bunches, Lydia! The two of us have not yet checked out the Isabelle books, but we always love hearing about the GOTY story lines. If you would like to check out past Book Nook reviews, please click HERE. You can also see our review of the Isabelle movie HERE!

What is your favorite Girl of the Year book?

Bella and Lulu {and Lydia!}

2 thoughts on “The Book Nook / November 2014

Say Hello!

