We Review: Kit Kittredge

Hello!

We Review Kit KittredgeWhile the Girl of the Year films are be a blast to watch {and playfully tease :)}, our favorite movies in the American Girl collection are those starring the historical characters. Whether it’s AnnaSophia Robb playing Samantha, Shailene Woodley beginning her acting career in Felicity, or Abigail Breslin taking on the role of Kit Kittredge, AG has certainly seen success in the movie industry. Since the two of us haven’t written a We Review – a sporadic feature where we discuss doll-related films – in quite a bit, we pulled out the Kit movie for a re-watch. Our thoughts are below!

B: Lulu, I remember seeing Kit for the first time in theaters to celebrate my birthday, and I’m happy to say I find it just as charming and well-done now as I did then! We’ll start with the lead: I think Abigail Breslin portrays the spunk, intelligence, and bravery of Kit perfectly. You?

L: Definitely! Her performance was always my favorite out of all the AG movies – she is able to bring Kit alive without ever going “over-the-top.” Of course, all of the actors did a lovely job; one of my other favorite performances was Willow Smith as Countee.

B: She’s such a cutie! I forgot how young she was in this movie. Speaking of which, there’s such a wide range in the ages of these characters, but they play off of each other so well. There’s a number of  memorable scenes between Kit and her dad, as well as a heart-warming moment involving Sterling and his-over protective mother.

L: The family moments are all so sweet! Another fun part of this film is the mystery – I remember when I first saw it, I was so surprised by all of the twists and turns. Even after seeing it quite a few times, I still get caught up in all of the suspense! Your thoughts?

B: I too was surprised at the mystery element when I first watched the movie! I love how the writers weave the detective excitement with accurate historical detail. I found learning about hobo life and the struggles of the Great Depression just as interesting as guessing the thief {which, as you said, was such a shock in the end!}.

L: I totally agree! Watching the Kit movie is a terrific way to learn more about the Depression and to get a glimpse into what people’s lives might have been like. The music and credits style just add to the 30’s feel.

B: Absolutely! The music frames the time period for the viewer, as do the costumes and the setting. The attention to detail was superb; it brought a smile to my face to see outfits on Madison Davenport that were actual products in Ruthie’s collection. Final point: are you just as baffled as I am as to how the levitation scene works?!

L: Yes. It’s the greatest mystery of all!

B: Thanks for sharing your thoughts and watching the movie with me, Lulu!

Join in our conversation! What did you think of Kit Kittredge?

Have a wonderful start to your week!

Bella and Lulu

Psst. To our musical theater fans {we know you’re out there!}, what are your thoughts on the Tony Awards? We are watching them as we write!

8 thoughts on “We Review: Kit Kittredge

  1. Very nice review. There was something that didn’t seem as if it translated from book to screen right, but overall I like this one. Loved Joan Cusak as the librarian.

    Only saw a bit of the Tonys last night. I liked what I saw.

    • I haven’t read the books in several years, but watching the movie has me wanting to revisit the series! Joan was terrific as the librarian – Lulu and I both agree :)

  2. Definitely my favorite AG historical movie! I remember first seeing this in the theater as well, and LOVED IT (and still do now)! One thing that I love about these films is that they’re great for the whole family. My grandmother came with my family to the theater when we went to see Kit, and she really enjoyed it too! :D
    *Sunny

Say Hello!

