The Doll Mag Book Club Summer Discussion / 01

Hi!

Apologies for not posting this yesterday – time seems to escape us in the summer! Anyhoo, here is the first discussion of the Doll Mag Book Club…

The Doll Mag Book ClubAnne of Green Gables is a classic story that many audiences have enjoyed since it was first published in 1908. It’s almost impossible not to fall in love with the book’s imaginative, irresistible heroine Anne Shirley and the charming, welcoming setting of Avonlea. We are so excited to revisit the classic in this summer’s round of the Doll Mag Book Club, moderated by two of very own bookworms, Louisa and Nicki. Want to join in on the fun? It couldn’t be easier; just respond to the questions below, add in your own thoughts on each section, or share your favorite scene in the comments! Today’s post is focused on the first five chapters of the novel.

A friendly reminder that spoilers may be ahead – no peeking! :)

“Anne Shirley,” reluctantly faltered forth the owner of that name, “but oh, please do call me Cordelia. It can’t matter much to you what you call me if I’m only going to be here a little while, can it? And Anne is such an unromantic name.”

1. What do you think of the characters so far, particularly Anne, Marilla, and Matthew?

Nicki: I adore Anne. Her enthusiasm and curiosity give redheads a good name, and her chatterbox nature lends life to the story. We haven’t seen Anne interact too much with Marilla and Matthew at this point in the story, but the contrast between the three characters is easy to note and is sure to cause mischief later in the plot! What were your thoughts, Louisa?

Louisa: Anne is so sweet! I love all of her description of the things in Avonlea; the Lake of Shining Waters is one of my favorites. Matthew is another one of my favorite characters because of his quiet nature and how much he enjoys Anne’s company. And as you said, we haven’t seen Marilla all too much, but inklings of her tough love personality definitely show through in these early chapters.

Oh, wasn’t it beautiful? Wasn’t it a lovely place? Suppose she wasn’t really going to stay here! She would imagine she was. There was scope for imagination here.

2. What do predict will happen next given the events of the first five chapters?

Nicki: That’s a tough one! With her vivid imagination and positive outlook on life, Anne is too hard to resist; I imagine that Marilla will choose to keep her despite the mistake made. Anne of Green Gables is also known as a staple in the coming-of-age genre, so as the plot moves along, I believe we will learn more about Anne’s life and upbringing.

Louisa: I have no doubt that the Cuthberts will keep Anne! Marilla seemed interested in Anne’s learning in the last chapter, so I hope we get to see Anne go to school and meet her classmates. I also can’t wait for Anne to be introduced to Diana Berry – I sense that those two will be kindreds spirits! :)

Green Gables was built at the farthest edge of his cleared land, and there it was to this day, barely visible from the main road along which all the other Avonlea houses were so sociably situated. Mrs. Rachel Lynde did not call living in such a place living at all.

3. Do you like the small town setting and historical aspect of the story?

Nicki: I do! Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres, and I find it even more interesting to read a piece from a certain time period. Already have we met a few of Avonlea’s memorable citizens, and I’m sure it will continue to serve as the perfect backdrop in the coming chapters.

Louisa: Absolutely! I love the setting of Avonlea, and Anne’s lovely descriptions of everything certainly help. I’m enjoying slowly getting to know the town’s inhabitants as well; Mrs. Rachel Lynde may be a bit of handful, but the way she catches every little piece of gossip in town will likely play a part in the story further down the road.

We can’t wait to hear what YOU think. Feel free to share your favorite quote too!

Our next book club post will take place on July 26th, and we will be discussing the following few chapters: 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13, or from the chapter Marilla Makes Up Her Mind through The Delights of Anticipation. Hope to see you there!

14 thoughts on “The Doll Mag Book Club Summer Discussion / 01

  1. I loved this book when I read it and hope you enjoy the entire series. I haven’t completely finished it yet because I thought the compilation volume I had included all the books. It doesn’t. :)

  2. I am so glad this book was the one picked because I just started reading it when you announced it. I like Anne a lot right now, she is very positive, creative, and talkative (which is a bit of a under statement) : ).

    -Anna

  3. I love the setting, and I truly think that marilla and Matthew will keep her. Anne’s personality is much like my own, so of course I am inclined towards her. Matthew obviously has a way of getting what he really really wants, and marilla seems awkward…

    • Anne’s personality is full of life; she’s such a well-developed and lovable character! Marilla is a bit cold in her treatment towards Anne, but I think we will see her loosen up as the story continues. – Nicki

    • That’s such a good idea, and one that never crossed our minds! We can’t promise anything, but we will definitely remember it when the book club is finished for the season :)

  4. Pingback: Monthly Recap / July 2015 | Doll Mag

Say Hello!

