The Doll Mag Book Club Summer Discussion / 03

Hello!

The Doll Mag Book ClubHello everyone! It’s time for another round of the Doll Mag Book Club! In case you’re just tuning in, we’re discussing L. M. Montgomery’s classic story, Anne of Green Gables, all throughout July, August, and September. The discussions are moderated by two of our models, Nicki and Louisa, both book-lovers as well. Anyone can be part of the club – comment your answers to the questions below, tell us your thoughts, or even just mention your favorite quote or scene from this set of chapters! Today’s discussion covers chapters 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18, so let’s get started straight away!

Just remember – spoilers ahead! :)

“‘Oh, Marilla, looking forward to things is half the pleasure of them,’ exclaimed Anne. ‘You mayn’t get the things themselves, but nothing can prevent you from having the fun of looking forward to them…” 

1. In this section, Marilla’s brooch went missing! What did you think of Anne’s “confession” regarding its disappearance? 

Nicki: Although I would hate to be in her situation myself, Anne’s confession had me giggling throughout the entire chapter! She truly means well, and while Marilla may disagree, I find it difficult to stay mad at Anne. I think L. M. Montgomery, the wonderful author she is, does a terrific job in this scene showing the contrast between Anne and Marilla’ personalities.

Louisa: Oh my – the whole situation just had me laughing and cringing at the same time! Anne’s fanciful tendencies are always fun to read about, and this time was no different. Her reasoning behind trying on the brooch and then the story she made up to explain its disappearance are perfect examples of her creative and imaginative nature.

“I shall never forgive Gilbert Blythe,’ said Anne firmly. ‘And Mr. Phillips spelled my name without an e, too. The iron has entered my soul, Diana.”

2. In this section of chapters, we see Anne’s experiences at school. What are your thoughts on her classmates (particularly Gilbert Blythe! :)) and her interactions with them? 

Nicki: Anne’s personality shapes the entire book. I can’t think of a better demonstration of this than when readers first meet Gilbert Blythe. This carrots incident had me on the edge of my seat – not because it’s suspenseful by any means, but more because I felt so bad for both characters! Gilbert became an instant favorite with me; I think he is sweeter than Anne gives him credit for.

Louisa: Anne sure does know how to make an impression! :) Just like with the brooch, I found myself both laughing and feeling bad  for Anne and Gilbert throughout the entire “carrots” incident. I’m not a fan of her teacher, Mr. Phillips, but I hope she and Gilbert reconcile soon – I predict the two of them getting into lots of funny mischief in the rest of the book!

“‘I can just imagine myself sitting down at the head of the table and turning out the tea,’ said Anne, shutting her eyes ecstatically. ‘And asking Diana if she takes sugar! I know she doesn’t, but of course I’ll ask her just as if I didn’t know.'”

3. The title of the chapter, “Diana Gets Invited to Tea With Tragic Results” seems to sum it up perfectly. What are your thoughts on Anne’s tea party?

Nicki: Oh my, the tea party chapter is another time where, as Louisa wrote above, I was laughing and cringing simultaneously – it’s just Anne’s luck to end up in this situation! In analyzing the scene, I really like how the event is used to give more insight into each character, from Anne herself to Diana’s strict mother.

Louisa: This chapter started out quite fun (Anne and Diana pretending to be fancy ladies in the sitting room had me smiling!), but I felt so bad for the two kindred spirits after the whole “raspberry cordial” mix up. I was desperately rooting for Anne when she went over to the Barry’s house to ask for forgiveness, and, although Diana’s mother didn’t forgive her then, I’m glad the disastrous party didn’t lead to the end of the girls’ friendship.

“The two little girls hastened out hand in hand and hurried through Lover’s Lane and across the crusted field beyond, for the snow was too deep by the shorter wood way. Anne, although sincerely sorry for Minnie May, was far from insensible to the romance of the situation and to the sweetness of once more sharing that romance with a kindred spirit.” 

4. Anne has been shown to be quite resourceful in situations, like when Diana’s younger sister Minnie May was sick. What are your thoughts on Anne’s rescue? 

Nicki: L. M. Montgomery has a talent for revealing more layers to her characters with each chapter. Here, Anne’s brave and resourceful side is developed in the sweetest of ways, and it strengthens the friendship between the two girls, an aspect I wholeheartedly approve of. The scene did have me nervous, but I’m happy all was right in the end.

Louisa: I’m glad that Anne was able to help Minnie May – I was worried for a moment! Like the doctor told the Barrys, Anne is “‘as smart as they make em'” her combination of intelligence and imagination were just the thing to help save Diana’s little sis! And speaking of Diana, I’m quite happy that she and Anne will be able to be in each other’s company once more.

We can’t wait to hear what YOU have to say in today’s discussion. Feel free to share your favorite quote too, as we have done above!

The next book club discussion will take place in two weeks (the 24th) and we will be talking about the following few chapters: 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, or from the chapter A Concert, A Catastrophe, and A Confession to Miss Stacy and Her Pupils Get Up a Concert. We hope you will join in on the fun!

Happy reading!

Psst. Need more Doll Mag fun?! We were a guest counselor for Camp Doll Diaries’ Dude Ranch Week. See our post HERE!

Say Hello!

