The Doll Mag Book Club Summer Discussion / 04

Hi!

The Doll Mag Book ClubHappy Tuesday! To help kick off your week, we have another installment of the Doll Mag Book Club for your enjoyment. For anyone just joining us, we’re discussing L. M. Montgomery’s classic story, Anne of Green Gables, all throughout July, August, and September. Our book club questions are moderated by two of our models, Nicki and Louisa, both book worms themselves. Anyone can be part of the club – comment your answers to the questions below, tell us your thoughts, or even just mention your favorite quote or scene from this set of chapters! Today we will be talking about chapters 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, and 24, so grab your books and we’ll get started…

Remember – spoilers ahead!

“‘I’ve made up my mind simply to stay for the sake of getting better acquainted with that Anne girl.’ she said frankly. ‘She amuses me and at my time of life an amusing person is a rarity.” 

1. In this section of chapters, Anne meets Diana’s Aunt Josephine. What did you think of their first encounter and eventual friendship? 

Louisa: You don’t usually expect to find someone sleeping when you jump on a bed, do you? I have to admit that I share Diana’s amusement at the whole event, but I am still quite glad that Anne managed to convince Aunt Josephine to continue her stay in Avonlea and pay for Diana’s music lessons. The latter and Anne are an unlikely duo, but I think they make a great pair of kindred spirits!

Nicki: This is one of my favorite scenes in the book. I admire Aunt Josephine and her sense of humor, and I, of course, continue to adore Anne’s active sense of imagination! It’s a classic Anne event, in which she has me laughing in the beginning, cringing near the middle, and smiling by the end; you can’t ask for more than that. Most importantly, however, I’m happy that she forms another kindred spirit! :)

“‘I just grow cold when I think of my layer cake. Oh, Diana, what if it shouldn’t be good? I dreamed last night that I was chased around by a fearful goblin with a big layer cake for a head.'”

2. Avonlea welcomed a new addition to their town in these chapters! What are your thoughts on the Allan’s, Anne’s cake, and Anne’s invitation to tea? 

Louisa: Anne is quite the baker, isn’t she? :) I was really rooting for the cake to come out like she wanted, but I also think the mishap also gave her and Mrs. Allan something to bond over. And of course, what’s better than an invitation to tea?

Nicki: Anne sure does have trouble in the kitchen, doesn’t she? While it wasn’t pleasant for Anne at the time, the scene gives us readers something to laugh over, and all ends well with the invitation to tea. Furthermore, Mrs. Allan is another wonderful woman for Anne to look up too; this section introduces several great characters.

“‘I must do it. My honor is at stake.’ said Anne solemnly. ‘I shall walk that ridge pole, Diana, or perish in the attempt. If I am killed, you are to have my pearl bead ring.'”

3. In these chapters, we learn about the “fashionable” hobby of daring amongst the youth of Avonlea. What do you think about Josie’s dare and Anne’s injury? 

Louisa: I have to admire Anne for her determination to walk the ridge pole (even if it was a pretty silly idea in the first place!). Josie can be a bit of a showoff, and while I would never recommend balancing on the edge of a roof to anyone, I can understand where Anne was coming from. I was quite worried when she fell and hurt her ankle, but once she went into a dramatic monologue, I knew she would be okay!

Nicki: Ah, Anne’s determination can lead her to trouble, especially with a dare from pesky Josie Pye! Anne had me worried for a second, but like Louisa, I knew a good ending was in sight once Anne launched into her lengthy monologue {did you catch her slip-up about Gilbert and the class ranks?!}

“‘ I love Miss Stacy with my whole heart, Marilla. She is so ladylike and has such a sweet voice. When she pronounces my name, I feel instinctively that she is spelling it with an e.” 

4. Finally, what are your thoughts on Anne’s new teacher Miss Stacy? 

Louisa: We didn’t get to see a lot of Miss Stacy in this section because of Anne’s injury, but from the glimpse of her that we did see, I have to say that I like her a lot! All of her ideas and new additions to the school curriculum (recitations, field afternoons) are very fun, and I think that she and Anne will continue to get along splendidly :)

Nicki: This section truly is about the best Anne of Green Gables characters with the introduction of Miss Stacey at the end! From the short chapter she was in, I can already tell Anne’s new teacher will have a lasting impact on her students, and I can’t wait to see what else she has up her sleeve.

We can’t wait to hear what YOU have to say in today’s discussion. Feel free to share your favorite quote too, as we have done above!

The next book club discussion will take place in two weeks (the 13th) and we will be talking about the following few chapters: 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, or from the chapter Matthew Insists on Puffed Sleeves to The Queen’s Class is Organized. We hope you will join in on the fun!

Say Hello!

